When we found out the Honors electives for the 2011-2012 school year, fairytales immediately stood out to me. As a kid I always loved to read, and my parents were the kind of parents who made a big deal out of story time. My Dad even read me a few stories from the Brothers Grimm and Hans Christian Anderson. However, being a child of the nineties, I was a Disney kid from birth. Beauty and the Beast came out the year I was born and, as a result, Belle became my instant favorite. She was simultaneously glamorous and intelligent, and she lived in an enchanted castle…her life was perfect! Plus, she was a brunette which made playing dress up a little easier.
As I grew older, I realized that the Disney-fied versions of my beloved fairytales were not the truest forms of these stories, but I was quite comfortable in my bubble until now. As I embark on this course, I would like to learn how the original fairytales came to be, and analyze their deeper meanings.

